Unless I Like You More Than Coffee

coffee

I like  you
and I don’t want you getting the wrong idea.
So let me make this abundantly clear.

I love my morning mug of coffee
followed by several others through the day.

I love it when it rains and
I love the sound of trains.

I love the sight of my bed
after a long gruelling day.

I love songs most people abhor and
I love reading stories with happy endings.

I love white flowers, a crescent moon,
being in on secrets, and brushing my teeth.

You… are awesome and I like you.
But unless I like you more than coffee,
please don’t expect to say, “I love you”
because it simply won’t be true.

***

5 thoughts on “Unless I Like You More Than Coffee

Leave a Reply

